In Memory of Dad Scott

A good man passed away last night. A godly man. A man of integrity.

When Dad Scott first entered my life, it was a time of transition. I was in a youth group, a pretty big organization, in fact. I was essentially the Vice President for the state, with just a year away from being the head guy in charge. Dad Scott was the new adult advisor that was in charge of my district. In many senses, he was my adult counter part.

He didn’t exactly know what he was getting himself into. There was a lot of bureaucracy and administration involved. Plus he had to put up with me. Shortly after he took the role, we had our first of many meetings where, ironically enough, I tried to explain to him the role that he had taken on.

He took it in stride.

Unlike any other individual that had ever taken that role during my time in the youth group, Dad Scott became my friend. While many advisors focused on the whole organization, Dad Scott focused on the individual. He focused on me. He was there for me. He backed every single idea that I ever had.

We spent the next couple of years working hard, laughing, and encouraging each other. Then I aged out of the youth group. You’d think that would have put a damper on a relationship. You know, stall it out a little bit. Not even in the slightest. Because of Dad Scott’s recommendation,  I was able to receive multiple scholarships from an adult organization that he was a part of. One was even a scholarship in his name. It is no exaggeration to say that, because of God working through Dad Scott, I was able to pay for college.

It didn’t stop there. In the last few months before his passing, he took extra care to make it so that I would be preaching for a state gathering of his adult organization. He was invested in my spiritual development. And to top it all off, his daughter and granddaughter have recently told me that he said that I was a good young man. He was proud of me.

I remember the last conversation I had with Dad Scott. It wasn’t actually that long ago. He was clearly sick, stuck in bed. I told him about being asked to preach for that organization. His voice, clearly strained, showed great signs of joy. Even on his death bed, he cared for the individual more than anything else.

I don’t have the words to express how great of a dad he was. For those who don’t know, titles like “Dad” or “Mom” are given to the advisors as a sign of love and respect. He sure did live up to that name. And I truly believe that he valued me as an individual, which is the greatest thing  a dad and mentor can do. And I valued him and his friendship.

To his family, know that he touched my heart. Know that he was a man of God that had great hope in the great day of the Lord. I’m certain I’ll see Dad Scott in heaven. I know that he would encourage all to love people, love the individual, and above all- love God. I’m sure that his love of God was what powered his love for all others. That’s a great legacy to leave.

Thank you, Dad Scott, for being a great supporter, a great mentor, and a great friend.

One thought on “In Memory of Dad Scott

Leave a comment